PA School Admission Help

Hello All!

I am a Pre-PA Student attending a UC school in SoCal. I hope to become a physician assistant and wanted some guidance on how good of shape I am to apply.

My sGPA is a 3.4 and my cGPA is a 3.60 as a Biology B.S Student

I am taking the GRE in January and expect to score around a 310

I have about 2000 Patient Contact Hours working as a Therapy Technician/Aide at a Skilled Nursing Care Facility

I plan on getting 80 hours PA shadowing hours and 40 hours of Physician shadowing hours before applying.

I plan on getting 5 letters of recommendation: Therapy Director, Physician Assistant, Physician, Biology Professor, Genetics Professor

I have volunteer experience working at health clinics in Mexico (40 hours) and working as a science ambassador/tutor at elementary schools (80 hours), as well as doing a health project in an undeserved community. 

I also have extensive research experience: Ecology Lab (460 Hours) and Genetics Lab (400 Hours) as a paid researcher

However, some things that are concerning me:

I have received 3 C+ grades in Ochem 2, Ochem 3, and Biochem due to taking on too many responsibilities and not making enough time for studies (my fault completely). 

I plan on retaking both Ochem's as a postbac course this Spring, however I cannot do so for Biochemistry.

I have also received a grade 'B' in both my lower-division Biology courses, and 1 B in Chem 2.

However, I plan to finish both quarters (20+ units each) of upper division biology coursework with a 4.0 GPA, hopefully demonstrating an upward trend. 

If I do not get accepted this cycle, I do plan on fixing some parts of my application and reapplying the following cycle. I do not feel as if I am competitive enough, should I even apply this cycle or is it a lost cause? Please let me know!

Some questions I have"

What can I do to make my application stand out?

How can I overcome my low GPA?