Silence from almost all programs I have applied to...

So, I applied to approximately 12 schools and was verified by mid-July, and I have heard from only 2. Those 2 sent me interview invites pretty quickly (thank goodness!), but the remaining 10 have sent me absolutely nothing beyond standard receipt of application emails. I have been keeping up with the school forums and it appears they are all sending out interview invites and acceptances. Do most schools tend to wait until later in the cycle to send out rejections? I was kind of hoping my rejections would come faster, lol. 😞 Sorry if this is a silly question, this is my first time applying.

• Upvote 1

I find that unless you are auto rejected(do not meet the minimum requirements) your application will stay in the pool until all of the positions for interviews or invitations are filled. Fortunately it means you are technically still in the running but as the cycle progresses the feeling of impending doom becomes more justified. Good luck, the waiting is the worst part.

• Upvote 2

Yeah, first cycle I had Wayne State as one of my programs; I didn't get a response until about a week and a half after interview invites started going out and it was a rejection. At Eastern Michigan I was sorted into the last day of interviews and got waitlisted. I would pay attention to the individual forums and if you start seeing stuff happening but you aren't hearing anything you can kind of get a feel for your situation.

I wouldn't worry until you start seeing activity. Until then it's a waiting game. 

Edited by laferri2