New grad struggle to land a job

I graduated from my PA program in August and moved back to Michigan (attended school out of state). I am interested in primary care, cardiology, psych, and women's health primarily, but it seems that there are very few openings for these specialities. And, I am not hearing back from a majority of the places I put in applications at - rejections, interviews, nothing. I am starting to feel defeated and am not sure how to sharpen my application as a new grad with limited experience. I also have few contacts in medicine in the area. Any advice would be appreciated. 

A quick internet search did show jobs, including primary care, in Michigan that said they would take a new grad.  Don't know if any of these were ones you have contacted or are in areas you've looked.  Some other suggestions:

- check with the state PA society, often they have job postings

- check with Michigan PA schools - see what jobs they have posted for their grads - those will be new grad friendly jobs

- consider other fields, e.g. urgent care

Do...A....Residency.....
You guys can't just graduate and expect to have a job waiting.  Those days are at an end.

Just want to say to fellow new grads: this isn’t a blanket statement. If you’re willing to move, finding a job is easy. I had 2 offers in 2 different states (both in family med) MONTHS before I graduated. I accepted one and start in a couple weeks, no residency needed. If however, you want a specific area/specialty, yes, having a residency under your belt may make it easier. But I know how statements like this worried me prior to graduation, and it turned out not to be the case

• Administrator

1. Rotate where you want to work after graduation.

2. Network in the area you want to work after graduation.

3. Do elective rotations in the specialty(ies) you want to work in after graduation.