Non-Clinical PA Jobs

I’ve got almost 9 years experience as a PA, and frankly, I can feel myself getting burned out. My hours are 9-430 in an OBGYN clinic. I was accustomed to seeing 15-20 pts a day and lately my numbers are expected to be 25-30. Everyone in my office is on edge and overly stressed, and I feel like I need a change. Recently, I was talking to a patient who is an RN and works for an insurance company. She’s very happy with what she does and her salary, and she mentioned that she does have PAs and NPs in this field. Anyone have experience with this? I’m considering applying, but I’m not 100% sure what I’m getting myself into. 

I’ve been looking. I’ve complained to my boss. I’ve made it known I’m not staying if it stays this way. We had 4 midlevels. 2 left in the past 2 months and I’m on my way out as well. Unfortunately, I’m having trouble finding an opening close to home in a field that I’m interested in. I’ve considered just quitting and hoping something comes up, but I don’t want to put my family in that situation. I’m looking for a way out and I feel stuck. 

12 hours ago, WorkingPA10 said:

I’ve been looking. I’ve complained to my boss. I’ve made it known I’m not staying if it stays this way. We had 4 midlevels. 2 left in the past 2 months and I’m on my way out as well. Unfortunately, I’m having trouble finding an opening close to home in a field that I’m interested in. I’ve considered just quitting and hoping something comes up, but I don’t want to put my family in that situation. I’m looking for a way out and I feel stuck.