Is it worth it to get NRP, PALS, CALS, ATLS etc prior to first ER Job?

Hi, I’m a new grad and very interested in working in the ER. I have my ACLS and BLS and have noticed that some companies require only those. I have a few colleagues who got ER positions right away with only those certs, but I was wondering if it might be helpful to get as many certs as possible (NRP, PALS, CALS/ATLS) prior to getting a job vs waiting for a job that may help pay for these. The current total cost for NRP + PALS + CALS is over $2000. I definitely want to take these courses and willing to pay for them on my own if they may help in getting that first job. Are there are certs that are helpful? Most of the ER’s where I live have satellite ER’s in more rural areas. (but NOT solo practice)Thanks!

• Upvote 1

I'd hold off on dropping money on those courses as long as you have the required certifications for the positions you're applying for. If you're not getting bites on your applications, then maybe consider beefing up your credentials otherwise I'd recommend waiting for your CME funds for your upcoming job to help cushion the blow. Most hospitals conduct that training throughout the year at either no cost to FT providers or at a significant discount that you can tap into your CME money for.

If you're bored/antsy to do one of the ones you mentioned, I'd recommend doing ATLS. Outstanding course. 

• Upvote 2

I'd recommend waiting for several reasons: 1) CME funds - let the employer pay for the course, 2) having experience with patients who need advanced assessment and/or interventions gives you a context that really helps you get much more out of classes like ATLS and PALS.  I'd vote for those 2 over NRP.  In 35+ years in the field and the ED, I've only had to resuscitate 2 neonates (2 too many - worst moments ever).  

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

I took NRP once and did not think it was a good course. PALS and APLS are much better.