Professions that are hourly (rather than salaried)

Hello PA Forum!

For some reason I haven't been able to find a resource anywhere for this, but does anyone know of a comprehensive list of specialties that are hourly pay (as opposed to salaried)? I have heard time and time again throughout the forum the benefits of hourly pay, which is why I'm curious to know the full scope of specialties that offer this.

The main specialties that I can think of are (I know that these specialties can be salaried as well):

• Emergency Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Critical care/ICU

Another question, for those specialties that are salaried, how do you best recommend avoiding a situation where you are taken advantage of as a provider? I'm very aware of the problem of burnout/overworked providers, and as a current PA student I'm prepared to work hard for the benefit of my patients but I would like to avoid any situations that could lead to my industrious nature getting the better of me.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts or words of advice you may have. 

Cheers, -Syd

A contract reviewed by a lawyer before you sign it is one of the best ways to make sure you're not going to be shafted. I've known PAs in various specialties who worked for a fixed salary +/- bonus based on productivity  (I, myself included), and PAs in various specialties who've worked hourly wages +/- productivity-based bonus (again, myself included).  Some group settings will treat you as an employee, some may allow you to own part of the group (stocks, buy-in, etc.)

So, depending on the contract, you could be considered salaried or hourly.  Salaried has pros & cons as do hourly wage earnings. NCCPA and AAPA have surveys they do periodically that break down how PAs are compensated by specialty, region of the country, etc.