Advice on Loan Repayment for New Graduates

Hello

I am a new graduate, starting my job in the emergency room in October. I am curious to see what others have found as the best way to pay off student loans.  I used the GradPlus loans for school, and a lot of people from my program have been talking about refinancing their loans. I know if you do this you lose the benefits of federal loans, but is it worth it? I have heard about some people paying $3,000+ a month just to pay off loans in 5 years!

I was also wondering if anybody has pursued the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program? I will be working for a not-for-profit, but I have heard that less than 20% of people who apply for the PSLF don't receive it? (possibly from filling out forms wrong or just not qualifying).  I know that I would have to work at a not-for-profit for 10 years and make 120 qualified payments, but that sounds do-able. My boyfriend seems to think that working as a Locum Tenens PA is the best way to make a bunch of money to pay off loans. I am not sure how correct he is on this. 

Just like to see what others have to say. Any input helps. Thanks

You are a new grad... just go ahead and drop the locum tenens stuff until you are at least not scared of your own shadow. I say that respectfully.  Locums is not a place for new grads. 

Refinancing with a private company will save you money, and if you intend to pay your loans off in less than 10 years it is probably worth exploring.