Sign in to follow this  
epeter

Direct Entry MSN/DNP student to PA?

So I just finished my BS in Neurobiology in May and am currently a student in a direct entry MSN program. The MSN is 15 months long, about 65 (?) credits, and after completion, students are able to sit for the NCLEX and become an RN. There is also the option to apply to and continue in the 2.5 year-long DNP track to become an NP. There's a 86% acceptance rate (or so I've been told) into the DNP for current MSN students. I just finished my first semester of the MSN will be done this time next year.

During undergrad, I was planning to apply to PA school. However, my GPA was sitting below a 3.0 until the end of my senior year, and I graduated with a 3.116 cGPA. I applied to the nursing program mostly on a whim/as a backup and got in, and decided to move forward with it instead of doing a post-bacc. I figured I could just do NP instead through the DNP, since I was already on that track. But, I was still really dreaming of PA school, for a lot of the usual reasons- medical model curriculum, clinical hours, generalist training, etc.