If mistaken for a doctor...

Okay this is kind of a silly question, but if a PA is working in hospital or clinic or wherever and a patient says, "Thanks, doc!" is it a legal requirement to say, "You're most welcome, but I"m not a doctor."

What if a PA is in an informal setting and a friend says, "Hey doctor can you look at this bug bite on my arm?" Must you say each time, "Yes I have lots of medical training and I'd love to look at your arm, but I'm not a doctor. No, I'm not a nurse either. Well, a PA is a person with advanced training that..."

What if you are standing in a hospital hallway wearing a white coat and stethoscope and a patient says, "Hey doc, where's the cafeteria?" Must the PA say, "The cafeteria is downstairs, and the elevator is right here, but by the way I'm not a doctor."

I'm just trying to imagine a future career as a PA and I'm coming up with some awkward/funny moments because "Physician Assistant" is such a terrible job title. It's so easy to confuse with medical asssitant or nurse assistant, and less recognized than Nurse Practitioner. "Physician Associate" isn't much better, really. Thoughts? (kind of silly, I know)

Before you treat a patient, it is required that you identify who you are, what you are and what you are there to do. I was mistaken for a doc all the time as a RT. You can correct people until you're blue in the face, but I feel as long as you aren't misrepresenting yourself as a doc, you're fine.

I'd agree with above.

When seeing a patient I always introduce myself as a PA (a physician assistant). IF they ask what that is I explain.

&

Yes some times they still say thx "doc" even if I do correct them. Mostly the pt replies well close enough.

Physician Assistant" is such a terrible job title. It's so easy to confuse with medical asssitant or nurse assistant, and less recognized than Nurse Practitioner. "Physician Associate" isn't much better, really. Thoughts? (kind of silly, I know)