Working Part-time under a Limited Permit in NYC

Hi! I wanted some guidance from PAs who went the route of applying for a limited permit in order to work before getting licensed. I will be a fresh graduate this coming August and have been offered a job at my FM/PC rotation site. The idea of applying for a limited permit and working part-time at their office, maybe 3 days/week, while studying for my boards seems practical. What do you guys think? What would be the ballpark salary that I should push for as an unlicensed PA in a primary care setting in NYC? Any input from seasoned, professional PA-Cs would be appreciated!

Totally just my opinion but I studied full-time 4 weeks prior to taking my exam in addition to studying extensively in the 4 months leading up to the PANCE and doing a week-long board review. Studying was the only job I had and I did really well on the PANCE. Unless you're not taking the PANCE right away, I would put off working right out of school until you've taken the PANCE. Again, you may have different financial or extenuating circumstances. But you definitely don't want to have to retake the PANCE if you don't have to. Just my thoughts.

Edited by ncsunavypac
  • Like 1

Totally just my opinion but I studied full-time 4 weeks prior to taking my exam in addition to studying extensively in the 4 months leading up to the PANCE and doing a week-long board review. Studying was the only job I had and I did really well on the PANCE. Unless you're not taking the PANCE right away, I would put off working right out of school until you've taken the PANCE. Again, you may have different financial or extenuating circumstances. But you definitely don't want to have to retake the PANCE if you don't have to. Just my thoughts.