Can PAs work as medical assistants in Massachusetts?

Hi,

I am a dec 2018 grad board certified with a MA license, but having a lot of difficulty finding a job due to the "3-5 years experience" clause and the fact that many places are now giving priority to NP.

A few months back family members had suggested I get a job as an MA but I dismissed the idea as I wanted to spend more time looking for a PA position and didn't think I would be hired as one without having completed a formal Medical Assisting program. Now over 6 months post graduation with no job offers and loan payments coming in, a few medical professionals have now mentioned the idea again.

So before I start applying I wanted to see if any one has done this or knows if it is allowed? The other hurdle of course would be if the employer would hire knowing that  I would be looking for a PA position... thoughts?

I don't think there's a formal licensing requirement to work as a medical assistant in MA. As a licensed PA, you are more than qualified I would think. The pay would be low, however.

I realize you have been looking for a while, but is the job market for new grads really that bad? Have you tried looking a bit farther out from Boston? RI, CT, NH, VT are possibilities. Are you looking for a particular specialty, or setting? 

I surmise from your posts that you graduated from MCPHS Worcester (as did I). Barbara Hayes has been sending emails out with job listings, there was one last week (in NH) open to new grads, have you spoken to her?

On 7/31/2019 at 8:28 PM, charlottew said:

I don't think there's a formal licensing requirement to work as a medical assistant in MA. As a licensed PA, you are more than qualified I would think. The pay would be low, however.

I realize you have been looking for a while, but is the job market for new grads really that bad? Have you tried looking a bit farther out from Boston? RI, CT, NH, VT are possibilities. Are you looking for a particular specialty, or setting?