New Graduate Overseas

I am a current student planning to join my husband stationed in Okinawa Japan upon graduating, I would appreciate any advice or insight on finding a position as a new PA grad at the naval hospital system in oki and how possible this will be. That being said, if I am unable to find employment is there any way my career can survive a 2-3 year gap in employment straight out of graduation- will shadowing, volunteering, CME, online courses, doing anything I can to maintain my knowledge make up for this in any way? Is telemedicine ever a viable option for new graduates? Any thoughts or advice would be very helpful with this difficult decision!

I can’t say much about the first, perhaps talk to the base commander or someone.  As far as the second- shadowing and volunteering  does absolutely nothing for your clinical knowledge.  Zilch.  
In fact, every hour you aren’t practicing you are losing.  Cme is nice but you need skills , not necessarily knowledge.  History taking skills, differential identification skills, physical exam skills.  
Why don’t you join up?

• Upvote 2

If you're unable to find a position while there, you would likely have to consider a residency when you return - and even then you'd be up against stiff competition and have a difficult time proving you deserve a spot.  But you'd have a better shot at a residency than with an employer in my opinion.  

The first few years after school are crucial for solidifying your skills and as Thinker said the only way to do that is with a clinical position.

Edited by MT2PA

10 hours ago, kkrussell said: