Posted this to the surgery sub-forum but got no replies so I thought I'd try here: I've been in the peds cardiac world since I graduated so I'm a little out of touch with regards to the adult world... I am interviewing at an adult hospital who utilizes NPs for all clinic/floor work and RNFAs in the OR, and they now want to introduce a PA in the mix. The position will be heavily OR-based which is what I want, but I want to have a better idea of the workflow in the OR. I know vein harvesting is a CT surgery PA's bread and butter so I'm aware that I'll have to learn that skill but my question is, timing-wise: how long does it take to harvest and prepare the vein? Once it's prepared, do you then take over the first assist position? If so, how far into the procedure is the surgeon (is the patient on bypass yet)? What percentage of your case-load involves vein harvesting versus valve replacements or other surgeries? Does every CABG utilize saphenous veins or are mammaries used some of the time? I hope I don't sound naive... I have tons of knowledge with regards to heart failure, hemodynamics, rhythm, etc and I have some surgical assisting experience so my skills should translate once I am in the field but I just don't know the adult world yet.

Also, if I end up taking this job, recommendations are welcome for learning resources! Thank you all in advance for your help and insight!