Advice needed for PA school

Hello,  I graduated with my B.S in biological Sciences with a undergraduate GPA of 2.5 from a 4 year university. Some of the PA schools adviced I earn a masters degree in human biology related advance program to show my capability of being able to handle advanced level courses before I apply to PA schools. However most masters program have GPA requirement between (2.8-3.1) which is difficult to me. My current option is to retake course I did in poor in such as chemistry and organic chemistry course at community college. My second option is to attend a 1 year (25 credit) post bacc program in Health Sciences at a Salus University which has advanced courses. Regardless I choose any options PA schools require me to earn masters degree. Which of these options would be ideal in attempt to get in to advance masters program which are geared towards medicine considering time and money? 

Also would just retaking courses help me in respect to CASPA as it takes the averages of all my retakes. And I had retaken each of my chemistry and organic chemistry courses in my undergrad atleast twice. So if I were to earn As in my retakes will it be helpful? Pleas let me know!

Regardless of what you take -- including getting a masters -- all of your grades will average. CASPA does break out graduate school grades separately as well.

PA programs get evaluated on many things, including what percentage of new students make it through, so a low GPA is a red flag for many of them.

Knowing how many credits you already have that went into your 2.5 should tell you how many credits it will take to raise that to an acceptable level. Quite a few, I should think. And a clear-eyed assessment of how you got to a 2.5 and what you need to do differently from here on out is probably called for.

Some programs apparently weigh your last x hours higher; you might look into one of those. Also how to make your PCE/HCE unusually good.

Best wishes.

• Upvote 1