What is like to be a Trauma Surgery PA?

Hello,

As a PA student, I am interested in what it is like to be a PA in trauma surgery.

What are your typical duties? What roles do PAs play in trauma surgery?

What does a typical day look like as a trauma surgery PA?

What are the average salary and benefits?

What setting do you practice in (city, rural, hospital)?

How do you find a job in this specialty?

What contacts, web links, or specialty meetings are helpful for a PA in trauma surgery?

What advice do you have for a PA student interested in trauma surgery?

Thank you for you assistance!

Edited by bmoonpas
  • Upvote 1

13 hours ago, bmoonpas said:

Hello,

As a PA student, I am interested in what it is like to be a PA in trauma surgery.

What are your typical duties? What roles do PAs play in trauma surgery?

What does a typical day look like as a trauma surgery PA?

What are the average salary and benefits?

What setting do you practice in (city, rural, hospital)?

How do you find a job in this specialty?

What contacts, web links, or specialty meetings are helpful for a PA in trauma surgery?

What advice do you have for a PA student interested in trauma surgery?

Thank you for you assistance!

I am a new grad who will be starting my first job in trauma surgery soon.

If you have any interest in this specialty after graduation, it will be essential that you at least do your elective rotation in this area, preferably a trauma 1 center if possible. 

Typical day for me will look like rounding in AM (also covers acute care surg patients). The team is split into two teams that switch off taking the new trauma codes and evals. Rare OR assisting. Possible opportunities for procedures during trauma evals, ICU pts and the floor.

Average salary/benefits can be found in the AAPA salary report.

Finding a job in the specialty is very tough and they usually like to see prior experience or a residency. It also requires ACLS and ATLS certs.