Critique my First Draft

Hello all, 

This is my first time applying and I've finished my first draft. I would love some advice, particularly on the flow of the essay and how well it pertains to the prompt. I'm worried it sounds too generic and does not set me apart enough.

The cashier at El Pollo Loco handing me my lunch had no idea of the treasure trove she had just given me. While everyone else began enjoying their food, I was on a hunt. “You’re eating the pectoralis major! My piece has some vertebrae, that’s where the spinal cord would run through it. If this is the femur and that is the tibia, then there should be a ligament in this spot and a tendon over here!” This search for and identification of the anatomical parts of a meal was a frequent occurrence for me. As any of my family members can attest to, a meal involving meat was always interesting when I was around. As the years progressed and my passion for and knowledge of physiology grew, I taught them more than they ever wanted to know about the skeletal muscle fibers they were consuming and what their own bodies were doing as a result.

There was never a doubt in my mind that I would go into healthcare. I was the little girl who volunteered to carve the turkey at Thanksgiving dinner, identifying the other bones while everyone else fought over the wishbone.  I was also the little girl to rush to side of my teammate who scraped their knee or rub the back of my friend who was throwing up. I was too young to realize why they were in pain or how to help them, I simply knew that they were upset and could use comfort. When it came time to decide on a career path, my interest in the human body and natural gravitation towards those in pain assured me that healthcare was where I was meant to be.