New Grad ER Offers (Comparison)

Hi everyone,

I'm a new grad fortunate enough to have 2 ED offers on the table. For reference, these are in NY (not in the city), within an hour of one another in a moderate cost of living area. My career goals are seeing sicker patients, trying to get in on more advanced procedures and making myself as marketable as possible in EM, eventually hoping to break into rural/solo ED coverage down the road. I'm indecisive thus far because each of these offers seem relatively fair but each position certainly has its pros and cons. I'll try my best to highlight them below and would appreciate hearing what you think of the offers and which you think would be better for my future development.

Offer 1: Metropolitan Area 50k annual volume, 40 bed ED, Physician and APP coverage all day/night

Base: $60/hr  - -> 1872 hours/year = 112k + $11/hr differential for nights. Additional shifts paid at same rate (is this standard practice?)

Shifts: 8 and 10 hour shifts only (I prefer 12s) - no night obligation until a few months in. 2 weekends/month

Scribes: One for each physician/PA team

Acuity: 40% admission rate (lots of sick folks). Spend most of time in main ED but eventually some shifts with provider in triage system. 1-1.5 patients/hr

Training: 6-8 weeks as additional provider. Able to do advanced procedures (centrals, intubation, conscious sedation) with SP observing when I feel comfortable doing so.

CME: $1500 (can use for licenses but no separate coverage for this)

PTO: 108 hrs/year

Business expense reimbursement account: $2000/yr 

Medical/Dental/Vision: PPO ~250/month premium, dental and vision ~30/month premium

Malpractice: Claims with tail covered by employer

Noncompete: only for same specialty in same hospital

Bonus: No regular bonus. 4% retention bonus given at 18 month mark and then yearly.

401k: 3% match on 6% contribution. Vests 25% per year of service.