New Grad: Emergency Medicine Job search

Hi, I am a new grad PA-C looking to work in Emergency Medicine somewhere in the Los Angeles/Orange County area. I know this will be like a needle in haystack search, but I am willing to at least try. Does anyone have any advice on where I should look? What are some good Emed staffing agencies in the Southern California area? (I went to school in the bay area and Vituity/VEP seems to be popular there, but what about Socal?) Anyone have any experience working in Emergency Medicine fresh out of PA school in LA/OC area?

Didn't your program go over this?  There are plenty of staffing agencies, you can apply directly to hospitals, use job search engines....literally anything.  Search, apply, wait.

Most students apply long before graduation so you're kind of behind in the search.  By waiting to apply you are extending your period of unemployment (and thus not using/cementing your skills) which frankly may make it even harder to get into EMED at this point.

Perhaps you should consider a residency.

• Downvote 2

Being confined to that geographic region might make your search even tougher. I worked for Vituity right out of school in a busy level 2 trauma center in the central valley of CA and had a great experience. If you're willing to be flexible on location for your first job out of school, you will gain great experience and make yourself so much more marketable to the employers in the "desirable" areas of living. 

• Upvote 1

On 4/8/2019 at 8:47 PM, MT2PA said:

Didn't your program go over this?  There are plenty of staffing agencies, you can apply directly to hospitals, use job search engines....literally anything.  Search, apply, wait.

Most students apply long before graduation so you're kind of behind in the search.  By waiting to apply you are extending your period of unemployment (and thus not using/cementing your skills) which frankly may make it even harder to get into EMED at this point.