Urgent Care New Grad Offer

Hi all,

I am a new grad and received an offer for an urgent care position (2 provider coverage) in Upstate NY with the details below. I'm assuming they offer low initial salaries because they can get away with it with a decent chunk of new grads eager to work there. I did do a rotation with them and enjoyed my time there and the level of autonomy of the PAs so I know I would likely enjoy the position itself. They also have a designated "training program" for new grads over 2-3 months which is appealing. However, with this offer I'm a bit conflicted and reconsidering my options. My concern is that there isn't much room for negotiation as they interviewed tons of people for these positions and have "set" rates. Either way, I'd really appreciate any thoughts or suggestions you guys may have on this!

• Base salary: 85k - reevaluated quarterly and possibly bumped to 95k once seeing patients on own and certified with occupational med requirements (was thinking of requesting concrete date for this to occur in contract ie. 2-3 months)
  • Bonus: quarterly incentive based partially on RVU, Volume, Satisfaction scores, and SP discretion (planning to ask what this averages for PAs there)
  • Sign-On: 10k with 3 year commitment (must pay back prorated if I terminate employment prior)
  • Full time requirement: 2080 hours/year - additional shifts paid at 55/hr
  • Hours: 12 hour shifts; alternating weekends; scheduling one year in advance
  • Work location: "Home site" with expectation of travelling to multiple other locations as needed (not thrilled about this part)
  • Medical/Dental/Vision: HSA seed of 500 for high deductible plans
  • 401k: None - 3% employer contribution to Defined Benefit Cash Balance Pension Plan with 3 year vesting period
  • CME/licensing: None until 3 years of service!!!
  • PTO: 20 days per year (can't buy out, use it or lose it)