Direct Commission to Navy from PA school

Hello,

I am a currently a PA student graduating in August and sitting for my boards in September, based out of FL. No prior military experience and history as a licensed Florida EMT-B, ED tech, and over 1000 clinical hours as of now and GPA of 3.4.

I am currently applying to the Navy for direct commission (DC) withing 6 months of graduation from school and was wondering if anyone has done DC to the navy (and if so what helped you be a good candidate), life as a navy PA-C, what to expect, specialties I can expect to be able to work in, and just any general info. I have a good recruiter but you never know and I hear a lot of good and bad.

• 4 weeks later...

To answer your question every recruiter is in the same spot right now concerning PAs direct commission and Docs to I guess. Heard horror stories. 

It is a mess right now the officer running it is saying he doesn't want any students because "they wont touch a patient for months" which makes no sense because why would a person sit around for 6-8 months doing nothing when loans are sitting there accruing; and the credentialing service within the Navy is saying no to him and to still apply so again HUGE MESS. Dont understand why the Navy advertises these things and then one man just blocks it all. 

• 5 months later...

I am a LT in The Navy and direct commissioned right after PA school. I was one of only two that were selected for DC as a PA in 2017. It’s very competitive and there’s usually only 2-3 selected each year. I was prior enlisted in the Army as a flight medic which likely helped. If you have any specific questions you can PM me and I’ll do my best to answer.

• Upvote 1

• 7 months later...
On 10/4/2019 at 7:05 AM, jmedic12 said: