Is PA worth it?

Hi All, 

I know this is going to have to be a personal decision, but just looking for input/experience from those who have done it... I am currently a paramedic and full-time  paramedic instructor. I spent most of my career on a busy 911-only, fire-based ambulance. about 5 years ago I transitioned to teaching full-time. I still work part-time as a paramedic (2-4 24s/month). I always thought i wanted to become a PA, but in the mean time my career has progressed to the point where I don't know if it makes much sense for me. Here is my current situation:

•  I have a BS (non-science) with a 3.7 GPA. I have a couple of science pre-reqs to complete (<10 cr) 
  • I make a pretty decent living considering the field I am in (100K/year teaching + another 20-30K on the ambulance) 
  • I am in my mid-30s and I have a young family
  • The biggest reason I keep considering it it because I miss the medicine... I often dream about going back on an ambo FT  but the money just isn't there (paramedics around here make 60-80K)

PA's -  Is the job as fulfilling as you though it would be? What would you do in my shoes? Would you have done anything different in your own path to PA?