Hello fellow colleagues! I am a new grad PA and I need your help. I got a job offer at an urgent care but I'm unsure if I want to accept it. I am in SoCal. 

2 weeks training.  The UC sees 20-30 patients at one location while 35-50 at another.  

Base pay: 55+ (no bonuses)

malpractice with tail

NO CME and  PTO

Have yet to talk about health insurance and retirement. 

It's 1099 NOT W-2

That's horrible.

If you're not W2, you're not an employee (unless they have a weird set up).  Means you pay all the taxes.

1099 likely means NO benefits or insurance.  1099 is usually considered an independent contractor.

You have a LOT of clarification to do but even if it all landed in your favor, 55/hr is not good for UC, especially in a high COL area.

35 minutes ago, MT2PA said:

That's horrible.

If you're not W2, you're not an employee (unless they have a weird set up).  Means you pay all the taxes.

1099 likely means NO benefits or insurance.  1099 is usually considered an independent contractor.

You have a LOT of clarification to do but even if it all landed in your favor, 55/hr is not good for UC, especially in a high COL area.

Hi MT2PA, thank you for your opinion. I felt it was horrible offer too esp with the 1099 but wanted some second opinions. I'm going to try to negotiate. I knoq 55/hr is not great for UC but as a new grad i thought it was a okay if it was W-2 anyway.

Horrible offer. You can always negotiate however in this case it is unlikely you would be able to achieve anything decent enough to accept.

Keep pounding the pavement for jobs, there are much better offers out there.

23 hours ago, ChompPaChewyChomp said:

Horrible offer. You can always negotiate however in this case it is unlikely you would be able to achieve anything decent enough to accept.

Keep pounding the pavement for jobs, there are much better offers out there.

I tried to negotiate and it was barely better. 

19 minutes ago, funinthesun said: