Litho101

New graduate, spine surgery offer.

Hey guys. I am a recent new graduate living in Illinois now. I have been looking for a job for about 2 months now, still waiting for my license and so forth. I have interview in a few places and just got my first offer. I've kind of researched and looked around what is good and such but I'm coming here for some more help if possible. This position is with a spine doctor who spends 50/50 in office and OR, which I will be doing along side with. looking for PA because of the high volume. He does have call, I am not sure if its paid or not, it's not in the contract.

Salary: $90,000

10% bonus of PA surgical receipts (can someone explain/clarify?)

dental, health, vision, life, disability, (nothing about malpractice, I will ask)

15 days vacation (paid or not???)

5 CME days per year, $1500 per year

Allowance for dues, fees, memberships etc....

Any feedback/help will be great full. To me this may seem on the low end, but I know I am a new graduate with not much experience.

Salary is largely dependent on COL obviously. I have no idea what the COL is like in your area but 90k is the absolute floor for any new grad PA position imo. Show him the labor statistics and see if you can negotiate to at least $100-105k. It would also be beneficial if you could ask a current or former PA there what the 10% bonus typically translates to. 15 days (3 weeks) vacation is OK for a new grad, see if they would up it to 4 after the first year. $1500 for CME is a bit low. 

As this being your first job it's extremely important is having a supervising doc who is very understanding and helpful to you during your training period.

Hopefully more experienced people on here I'm sure will have much better info regarding this specialty as well. I can not say what the schedule and hours would be like.

Good luck!

Edited by ChompPaChewyChomp

1 hour ago, ChompPaChewyChomp said: