Hello,

I am a new grad in New England with a background as an x-ray tech who just got an offer for an IR position. Base salary of $100,000, Monday-Friday days only, no call, 40 hours per week, $2500 for CME per year, no sign on bonus. I'm trying to figure out if this is a reasonable offer or if I should counter (if so, how much?). I would really appreciate any advice!

Edited by PACT5678

Is there a productivity bonus? PTO? CME days? Retirement? Health insurance cost? Life/disability insurance? Malpractice insurance?

26 days of vacation/sick per year and 6 holidays. Retirement and  health insurance are comparable for the area. No productivity bonus. Unsure about the malpractice insurance. Thanks!

That offer is soft. 

I was offered $105k straight out of school in a significantly lower CoL area with similar PTO, a meaningless bonus, and 100% paid for benefits and a strong match for my 401k and my background is not in radiology  That was before any negotiation I passed on it because I didn’t want to live in the city where the offer was at  

The PTO is nice admittedly, but I imagine they take holidays out of that?  If so that is 16 days a year, which isn’t bad, but isn’t great. 

You have a relevant background in a procedure heavy job that daily exposes you to ionizing radiation in a high CoL region of the country. They need to be doing better than $100k a year. You could get that in an ER or UC without difficulty. I’d counter with $110-115k, if not more

Edited by anewconvert
  • Upvote 1

New England does not pay as well despite high CoL. Sounds like a pretty solid offer to me when my classmates are making between 92-104k in various fields.