Choosing first job/speciality advice needed

Hi everyone,

Someone, somewhere on this forum said this... You can have 2 out of the 3. Dream job(speciality), dream salary and dream location. 

I am a new grad with an offer in derm, good salary, but the location is rural... I love derm and it’s what I’ve always wanted to go into, but I don’t think I will be happy in a rural area.

I also have an offer in family med in a bigger city which I can see myself living in. I love family med as well and I believe it will make me a well-rounded provider.

As a new grad, I know it is recommended to start in FM. I don’t know if I am making the right decision walking away from the derm opportunity in the small town. I guess my question is, do you think there will be other derm opportunities in the future? How did you pick your first job? What is your advice and what would you have done differently? 

Thank you so much.

• Administrator

Rural environments tend to be better for PA respect and compensation.  I would recommend learning to like working there, and then go into the big city for shows or weekends or whatever.  Rural's not bad if you can get out once in a while. Derm is a very sought after, well regarded, well compensated specialty--after a few years, you will have a lot more options.

I worked in a rural area for many years. Quiet, treated well by clinic and community, lots of autonomy. We were an hour out of a major city so it was an easy trip or weekend to get our "big city" fix. You might like it. If not... get your skills and move. Derm is big money and most derm practices won't take someone without experience.

https://www.aapa.org/news-central/2015/09/the-blessing-and-burden-of-flexibility-a-guide-in-choosing-your-specialty-as-a-new-graduate/