BA in Psychology... PA School?

Hi all,

I hope this is the right place for this. I graduated with a BA in Psychology about 3 years ago. I have an interest in going to PA school after hearing from friends in the medical field. I currently am trying to find routes to get into PA school. I know it would not be right away of course, but does anyone have any advice or come from a similar situation and can share their experience?

34 minutes ago, ajorda33 said:

Hi all,

I hope this is the right place for this. I graduated with a BA in Psychology about 3 years ago. I have an interest in going to PA school after hearing from friends in the medical field. I currently am trying to find routes to get into PA school. I know it would not be right away of course, but does anyone have any advice or come from a similar situation and can share their experience?

I have a BA in psychology and am currently on a couple waitlists for pa school. What questions do you have or what are you wondering?

4 minutes ago, Alm4034 said:

I have a BA in psychology and am currently on a couple waitlists for pa school. What questions do you have or what are you wondering?

Hi Alm4034,

I was wondering how you got to that point of being able to apply for PA school. Did you work as a CNA, nurse, EMT, etc before applying? Did you take some pre-requisite courses to make you qualified?

In my undergraduate for my degree, I wasn't required to take an hard sciences such as chemistry and other necessary classes. 

I have been looking at routes to PA school and they all involve at least 3 years as an EMT, Medical Assistant, etc and then some type of GRE. I'm not sure if it's the smartest route to take classes for a year to get certification to be a CNA or MA and then work for 3 years as one, and then apply to PA school. I would like to get started on my own route but not sure where to begin. 

Guest HopeToBePAC