Please support PA Bill SB 5411.

I got this email from WAPA today:

SB 5411:

WAPA's bill, SB 5411 is going to a public hearing on Friday, February 8th at 8:00 am. If you were not able to attend our Lobby Day yesterday, could you please contact your representative/senator in your district to support this bill?

A simple email with some basic information will work. I.e. “My name is Lyn Storm and I am a physician assistant and a constituent in your district. Please support our bill, SB 5411 that will be going to a public hearing on Friday, February 8th. Thank you.” 

To find your district, enter your address here: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/

Then, email your legislator from this list (in alpha order) : https://app.leg.wa.gov/Rosters/Members

If you're unfamiliar with the bill, you can read it on WAPA.com. But here's an excerpt from the fact sheet on what it's about:

• Modernize PA practice laws to improve access to quality care.

• Reduce delays by eliminating Medical Commission review before PAs can get to work.

• Assure medical standard of care by preserving Medical Commission regulation of PAs.

• Allow multiple physicians on PA practice agreement which is kept by employer.

• Eliminate physician delegation and supervision requirements, allowing PAs to work under their own licenses and accept liability for their own care (they all currently have medmal insurance).

• Eliminate duplicate regulatory structures for PAs working with MDs and DOs.

• Alleviate burden of remote site and ratio restrictions.

Please contact your representatives now and spread the word to other PAs you know.

'Tis are exciting times, friends! Let's do this!

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1