Do you get sick a lot?

This is my first year working in primary care. Most of the patients I see are sick visits. I get sick all the time. Over the holidays I had 2 URIs back to back. Now I’ve got laryngitis and can hardly speak. It seems like every other month or so I catch something. I feel like I’m letting my coworkers down because I’ve already taken 5 sick days in the past 6 months. Is this normal? Will my immune system get stronger? Or is this just how it will be if I continue seeing all the sick patients? 

15 minutes ago, cinntsp said:

Put on a mask, take some sudafed, and tough it out!

I do not feel like I’m just taking sick days willy nilly. I hate taking sick days and have only taken them on the days where my fever was sky high and all I could do was lay in bed. These haven’t been the sick days where I’m just hanging around watching TV. And unfortunately this past week I have had to take 2 days because my laryngitis got so bad I can’t speak. 

ugh

this is part of why I left office based urgent care and the ER

What I have come to learn - we tend to inoculate ourselves - we touch our face, eye, nose and mouth with dirty hands....

Now I am judicious about hand washing and not touching my face and I am sick a lot less

some of it is just bad luck, come of it is your hygiene

try wearing a mask for a day or two nd you will likely realize how often you are touching your face

Also - start and end every visit with hand washing, have the patients ALWAYS turn away to breath, keep your distance, hid behind them during exam, don't look close in their mouth....

Guest thatgirlonabike

And sleep, sleep, sleep.