Interest in Forensic Work

I’m a new grad PA who has encountered some significant difficulty finding a suitable position in my area (South Florida). Relocation isn’t an option at this point. I’ve posted about that before, but I’m hoping someone could help guide me or offer any insight into potentially entering into the field of forensic work as a medicolegal death investigator. I know that states such as NY and VA have utilized PAs in this context, but I haven’t been able to get a hold of any to chat with them and get insight.

I have an interview with the office of the Medical Examiner this week for an available position that I might be able to carve a niche for myself in. However, I’m concerned about the fact that this is non-traditional (non-clinical) work. I’m assuming working in this capacity would force me to pick up another job on the side because I’d lose my ability to be employed anywhere else if I ever decided to leave. Might anyone have some insight or know any PAs working in this capacity that I could get in touch with? 

• Upvote 1

Not sure how much my experience will help you, but I've been a deputy county medical examiner in upstate NY for a few years.  It's an appointed, not elected, position, and there are only three of us in the office:  an IM MD, a nurse practitioner, and me.  We don't share cases; whomever is on call gets the case.  It's a rural county, so we only average a few cases each per month.  We do it all - scene investigation, whatever additional investigation we deem necessary, decision on whether to refer for autopsy, coordination with law enforcement, pathologists and funeral directors, determination of cause/manner of death, and completion of the death certificate.