New grad. Vein Clinic. Thoughts?

Title basically says it all but I’m a new grad in South Florida, where it’s well-known the market is horrific. Positions are very hard to find.

I graduated in August and have been looking for positions since. I’ve had a few offers, but none were good fits. Recently, I was offered a position in a vein clinic. It’s a family owned, small practice where the SP is an interventional radiologist. He primarily does sclerotherapy and needs a PA to help and also run the mini-cosmetic clinic he also has going which consists of Botox/Fillers. The pay isn’t good (70k) for the first year, but I truly like the doctor and he would provide stellar training. Historically, he’s had two other mid-level providers who were with him for 10 and 6 years respectively, and his office staff have all been with him long term as well, which I take to be a good sign. 

I’m strongly considering this offer for several reasons. Not only because the pickings are slim where I live (and I cannot relocate), but despite being an excellent student, I don’t feel ready to practice. This would be a good opportunity to get established in a niche sub specialty where they cater to new grads and love teaching. The atmosphere is very supportive.... but I’m scared of pigeonholing myself. My goal would be to eventually also do volunteer work in a free clinic on weekends to keep my general skills sharp. 

Any thoughts? Is this a terrible idea? The farther out from graduation I get, the more desperate I feel. I don’t want to make any rash decisions, but I’m painfully aware of my inexperience and personal limitations as a new provider. 

• Administrator

Two thoughts:

As a profession, our salaries are going to be driven down by people who cannot relocate.  Not saying that's good or bad, it just is.