KVB0821

Chances on getting into PA school 2019-2020 cycle

Hi everyone! This is my first time using this forum and I have found a lot of information so far reading other posts so I just wanted to get some advice on where you guys think I stand. I am going to be applying to PA school in the next upcoming 2019-2020 CASPA cycle. I am getting a little worried about my credentials and just want to hear some opinions on whether or not I have a shot of getting in.

• I am currently a senior at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst graduating in 2019 with a BS in psychology with a concentration in neuroscience
  • my cumulative GPA so far is 3.56 with a science GPA of 3.44
  • I work at a hospital as a patient care associate and will have around 800 patient care hours by the time I apply
  • I work as a pharmacist technician simultaneously (even though this does not count as patient care hours)
  • I will obtain shadowing hours this upcoming semester in the spring, and all of my pre-reqs are completed
  • A's and B's in all pre-reqs
    • I have one problem regarding organic chemistry and wondering if this is going to have any effect on my chances of admission. I got an A in organic chemistry I and was extremely happy with that. However, I know it is not a pre-req for most programs, but orgo II was required for my major and I did very poorly ending with a C-. Given that it did not heavily effect my overall GPA, most schools do not require it, and after talking to my advisor, I decided not to retake the course. Should I look into retaking it?

My hometown is around Boston and I am really hoping to get into a program near there. I know these programs are very competitive, but if anyone has any advice they can give on what I can do to make me a stronger applicant that would be very much appreciated. I feel as if the field gets more competitive each year and I am starting to get very anxious on whether or not I will be admitted to a program. 

Edited by KVB0821
  • Upvote 1