Perfect job, flawed contract

Hi there! I'm a new graduate with a hospitalist job offer. This is truly my ideal first job and I'm elated. The location is where I want, salary is great, the hours are pretty good, the benefits are great (good health/dental insurance, malpractice insurance, $2000 for CME annually). However, the contract has a pretty bad non-compete clause. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to what I can argue or if they've ever negotiated a non-compete clause out of their contracts. It just doesn't make a lot of sense to me why a hospitalist PA would need to sign a non-compete...I can't take any patients with me when I switch jobs. I understand the best thing to do would be to get a lawyer, but I obviously do not have the capital for that as a new grad.

Here are the basics of the non-compete:

1) shall not establish a financial relationship with any other hospital, health system, ambulatory surgery center, other health care provider, or any other medical related business within ~35 mile radius while working in this position

2) shall not do the above for a period of 2 years AFTER I leave the position

3) or else I'm fined $25,000

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

So basically you can’t be employed as a PA for 2 years after you leave the job within 35 miles?!  That’s ridiculous!  

The first thing you should do is find out if non-compete’s are even legal or enforceable in your state.  

then id talk with them about it and find out if there is any wiggle room