New DMS Program at ATSU

I got my masters from ATSU and they emailed me today announcing a new DMS program...two tracks, Leadership and Education (not interested in either) and 2 years.

I think if you have a yearning burning to get a Doctorate, the Lynchburg program is still the shortest way.

ATSU APA alum get 20% off tuition...

I'm still holding out for more clinical classes or a strictly clinical DMS. But here's the link.

https://www.atsu.edu/doctor-of-medical-science

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

I honestly don't get the push-back on this forum that people have for the LMU DMS program. Out of the available DMS programs (Lynchburg, ATSU, or the MCPHS program with the terrible name), it has the most robust clinically-oriented curriculum by far. Yes it is longer at 2 years, but it seems to be the only one so far that could actually add substantially to the clinical knowledge base of PAs; the others all seem to be focused on teaching or administration, which is kind of funny to me for a degree called "Doctorate of Medical Science".  

I understand the other programs may be preferable for later career PAs who have been working in their field for many years and are ready to move into administration/academia and simply need a doctorate for those purposes. For early career PAs who are still developing their skills and knowledge though, the LMU program seems to be the only one that actually takes the "medical science" aspect of the degree title seriously. 

One caveat to my statements is that Lynchburg's program is beginning to allow PA residencies/fellowships to fulfill part of the degree requirement, which I think is the best of both worlds, and may be the best model overall for a PA doctorate; however, it will likely be a minority of students utilizing this option for the foreseeable future until more residencies are approved and more are created. 

57 minutes ago, EMEDPA said: