Contract Fines

Hello,

I'm a first year P.A. who is working in a primary care/urgent care setting which I am currently going to be quitting for multiple reasons (including not training for as long as they said they would, not having the support that they promised,....etc.). I signed a contract with the company as an independent contractor. It was my first contract so I didn't know what exactly to look for (I wish would've consulted on here first). They are saying that I needed to pay $6,000 in fines for credentialing fees and $2,000 in fines back for CME money that was reimbursed. It does say in my contract that if I did break my contract in the first year I would have to pay it back the CME and pay the credentialing fees. One of my colleagues told me that I do not need to pay that back because of 1) They did not give me a signing bonus with the contract and he believes that I only can be fined for a signing bonus and not from my salary. 2) If I'm a independent contractor I am not entitled to pay the credentialing fees which is their responsibility. I'm not sure if these are true. 

Also I am wondering for tax purposes, since I'm a 1099 if I do end up having to pay the fines is that deducted from my salary or do I have to pay tax on those fines as well?

Thank you for your time and any info would help.

Not a lawyer here but your colleague doesn't sound like they know what they are talking about.

1. You signed a contract stating you would have to pay/reimburse those fees if you left.  Doesn't matter if you got a signing bonus or not.

2. My experience is that it's quite the opposite - usually 1099 DON'T get their credentialing fees paid for.  It actually doesn't matter anyway.  Regardless of type of employee - your contract says you must pay the fees if you leave.  

As above, get a lawyer.  And maybe an accountant, too.