Is becoming a Dermatology PA right for me?

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this but I've been very curious about becoming a PA when I graduate from high school. I'm currently a sophomore so I have more time to choose what I want to do but becoming a PA interested me because I've always wanted to become a dermatologist but didn't want to go school for 12+ years, so when I found out that if you became a PA you could choose to become a dermatologist assistant I was thrilled. I was wondering how many years of school you need, how competitive it is, the work hours, the amount of people happy with their job, etc. I've tried to do research myself but they've all had different answers. Any help would be appreciated. ? 

I can't tell you all the exact details as I'm only a prospective PA student, however, I can answer a few of your questions. As you are relatively young (good for you for thinking ahead!), I think you have a few misconceptions about the PA field:

1) As a PA, you don't become an assistant of that specialty (dematologist assistant, cardiologist assistant, surgical assistant) - a physician assistant is a medical professional who performs a LOT of the same duties as a doctor would: diagnosing, developing and managing treatment plans, prescribing medications, etc. Obviously, the big difference as the name reveals, is you work in collaboration with a physician, but that doesn't mean you're constantly under direct supervision of the physician.