PA school vs Accelerated Nursing Degree

Hi All, I need some advice. I’m currently in my last year of undergrad with hopes of applying to a PA school. The only thing is, I don’t feel like my application is sufficient enough due to the required hours. I only have the bare minimum of hours because I am only able to work part time while being a full time student. With that, I am afraid I will be wasting time trying to get as many hours as I can after I graduate undergrad. Becoming an NP is my back up plan if I don’t get into PA school. Would you recommend that it’s a good idea to apply to an accelerated nursing program like DePaul’s MENP or Rush, and a few PA schools? I would want to apply to both just so that I can get started on a career in case I get turned down for PA school. Thanks!

First off welcome! 

Meeting the bare minimum isn't competitive and it's good that you realize this. However, do not disqualify yourself so prematurely. What are your grades like? What are your patient care experience hours and responsibilities? You may be one of the lucky ones to gain admission into PA school with the bare minimum. That said, be realistic should you apply anyways. You miss 100% of the shots you do not take.

Now, regarding your inquiry about direct entry MSN for non-nurses. An MENP does not grant you the privilege to practice as a Nurse Practitioner, it grants you the privilege to practice as a masters level Registered Nurse. If you decide to do the MENP, you will have to do post-grad master/certificate in a specific specialty to practice as an NP. In hindsight, this is a lot more expensive and sometimes take longer than say....an accelerated BSN --> Masters/DNP NP. 

Make sure this is a path you really want to go down because although it looks like a good backup plan, it's a lot of work, especially if you don't see yourself working as an RN. I took this path and I'm quite content with my decision. But make sure you research it to death before you jump ship.