Lol0247

Applying to PA school with a mediocre GPA, but tons of HCE

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting here on the forum and was hoping I could get some direction seeing as I have already benefited so much from reading past posts. I just submitted my application for the first time. I have an overall science GPA of 3.31 and my overall non-science is a 3.47. I am 31 years old and have been working as a sonographer for the past five years at a government hospital. I could go into more stats, but my main question has to do with last year’s grades. The last two semesters I withdrew (received a W) from genetics due to my aunt having cancer. I went in with good intentions, but realized I knew I needed to take time off. I mentioned it briefly in my personal statement, but didn’t want to spend much time on it or seem as though I was trying to negate the blame. I know schools look for an upward trend, so my question is will these recent  W’s inhibit my admission? Thank you in advance 

Welcome! I have similar GPA stats to yours, less PCE, and have gotten accepted (plus more interviews coming up!). I do not have any Ws on my transcript, but have seen several posts about getting accepted with more Ws then you have. Have you retaken those classes and gotten As? I doubt that two Ws with clear explanation will seriously hinder your applications competitiveness. 

• Like 1

Thanks for responding. That is so awesome you got accepted, congratulations!!!! I am Re-taking the class (Genetics) right now. So far I have an A *fingers crossed* . My pre-requs thus far for the last 3 years have been micro-A , anatomy-A, physiology-B, molecular cell Biology- B, Gen Chem I- B and A in lab, Gen Chem II- C/ C in both lecture and lab. So ya, I’d like to definitely go in with a 3.5, but hoping my 10,000+ hours of patient care will help me.