how long will I have to serve as an HM before applying to IPAP?

I will be attending bootcamp for the Navy in October 2018. I have a bachelors degree in sports medicine and will be going in as an E-3 for HM. I plan on attending C school for surgical technician so I can gain more experience before applying to PA school. I would like to know what is the minimum amount of time I am most likely to serve before I can be promoted to an E-5 and apply to IPAP or a civilian PA program. And does anyone have any tips on how I can expedite my journey to becoming a PA (perhaps, should I choose a different C-school)? Any info helps. Thanks! 

Congrats! Worked for the Navy for 6 years and mentored over 25 Corpsmen during that time.. so I have a little background.

Did you negotiate coming in as an E-3 Corpsman? If so, with your Degree you should be asking for E-4 at least. Minimum time in rank is 1 year I believe, so 2 years if you pass your exams and get great evaluations each time.

Pipeline for IPAP is tough, but if you press your LPO and Chief they should be able to help you complete the application and send it up the proverbial flagpole.

Surg Tech C school will get you great experience in the OR if that is what you ultimately want to do. There are dying breeds of Cardiac Techs, Dermatology Techs, Wound Care Techs and the like which dont have C Schools anymore. Corps School will give you the basics, but it all depends on which C School you choose ( or what is offered, not always a choice), and where you get stationed. SO--- at best you are at the whim of the Navy, but seek each assignment for what it is worth and gain the experience treating patients.  If you get stationed with the Marines, that's ER Medicine and Ortho all rolled into one!

Hope this helps!

Prior HM, 3 years Gen HM, 3 Cardio Texh, 1 year C school for Cardio tech. Got out as E5 at 7 years in 2011, took long to finish Bachelors, now in 2nd month of civ PA school.