Residency after working - not as a new grad.

Hi all, 

I haven't seen much on the forums about people completing a residency after already working. I've been in hospital medicine since I graduated two years ago and I do enjoy my job, but my hope has been to get into critical care/emergency medicine at some point. I think I could likely do that in my area without too much difficulty, but now that I've seen what 'on the job training' really amounts to typically, I am concerned that I'd get pigeon-holed into fast track or something because of the lack of training I'd receive. My fiance and I don't have children (yet, maybe never), and I'm still young enough (early-mid 30s) that I have many years of practice left. I think the extra training, knowledge, and experience would be worth it for the enrichment of my continued career.

Has anyone here done a residency after working? or know anyone who has?

I will be starting an EM residency in about a month. Have been working for about 4.5 years with 1 year in FM, 1.5 in outpatient transplant/hepatology and 2.5 inpatient transplant. I can echo your concerns regarding on the job training. Since i started my inpatient role, I have been promised opportunities for advanced procedures and OR training. Neither of which really materialized. 

I think that my previous experience, especially the inpatient experience will be a significant benefit. I've been working with residents, calling consults and generally caring for pretty sick patients. However, after working in a subspecialty, it will be challenging getting back into a more generalist field. This later point wouldn't necessarily apply to you if you've been working as a hospitalist. The other big challenge will of course be the schedule. I currently work anywhere from 42-50 hours a week, all days. In the fellowship I will have consistent 55-60 hour weeks with alternating schedules, something that I haven't done in a while.