Fear of practicing as a PA

Guest Eve3362

Hello, I'm new to the forum. I'm reaching out for support because I'm a new graduate,  I searched for jobs for a year in south florida and even opened myself to California. Fear has kept from accepting job offers in rural areas. I got an interview about two weeks ago and the doctor likes me and told me to come in.  He didn't say I was hired,  it seemed like he was trying to see how I worked. So two days after the interview,  while at a assisted living community  with him (it's a geriatric position ), I asked him if he was still interviewing for  PAs or is he just allowing me to shadow him before hiring me? He didn't really give a direct answer,  he just said " no you're good,  you're eager,  compassionate etc". So the second week came and I continued to come and then he asked if I think I would be ready to see patients on my own. Now here's the question and where the fear comes in. I know I am a certified PA and my hand can't be held, but I really want my hand to be held.  I want to go in and see the patient,  do a history,  physic,  and tell the doctor a possible plan and know if it's right or wrong. I'm not ready to travel to the different facilities he serves and see the patient on my own. Geriatrics is intimidating,  and I told him I'm not familiar with many of the meds the patients are on,  I know what they are,  but sometimes I have to look up the name and how could I do that in front of the patient without looking incompetent? Also geriatric patients usually deal with side effects of the multiple meds they're on and Im not familiar with which one could be causing that particular side effect. I'm scared that I'm not competent enough and I really don't have the confidence. I try to tell myself to not be afraid but it's not working. I'm really scared. I'm scared that I will never be ready.  I see myself working in psych but it's hard to get a PA job in psych without the experience and it seems like most psych jobs are f