Can I get through Clinical year if hospitals give me anxiety?

First, this forum has been invaluable to me as I continue to teeter on the fence - deciding whether to jump without a parachute and completely change my career at 43 

I do believe I would be a great PA. I have 20 years experience in healthcare as a Speech Pathologist, but I always avoided the hospital setting due to my dislike of hospitals. I have worked in many other medical settings, such as Acute Rehab, outpatient Rehab, and outpatient of a children's hospital. But I really dislike the intense stuff that I would see in a hospital (trachs, vents, catheters, vomit, contagious diseases, coma stim, etc). I want to become a PA to further my career, and end up in the NICU (doesn't bother me as much), or working in an ENT office or a Dermatology office. I know I cant reach those goals without getting through PA school, and I am terrified of not being able to tolerate the ER & Surgery rotations. 

Did anyone make it through PA school without needing to encounter the fears listed above? Did anyone else have these fears and become somewhat desensitized? There must be many other aspiring PA's who don't want to end up in acute medical care? They say to "face your fears", but even watching some medical shows gives me anxiety at times. Its the only hurdle that I haven't gotten past in my mind, and the one reason I have not enrolled for my prerequisites yet. Once I begin, there is no turning back. I want to be sure. I also don't want to allow my fears to stand in my way.

Advice? Thoughts? Insight? 

Thank you ?

To become a PA, you have to have completed rotations in core areas, including surgery. You can go to the ARC-PA website and see what that entails.

Some people come to school with fears, like will I pass out my first morning of gross anatomy?