How did you decide which pre-reqs to prioritize?

Hi Everyone,

I'm currently taking pre reqs to apply to PA school after working in another field for 13 years. I made a spreadsheet listing out the pre-reqs for the schools I plan to apply to next year (I have kids so I'm a bit limited geographically). The tricky part is that while there are common courses for all programs, there is a good amount of variation. While I'd like to apply to multiple programs, each one seems to increase the number of total courses I would need. Did anyone else returning to school encounter this situation? Did you spend another year taking classes or did you end up applying to a handful of programs? 

Thanks!

Like yourself I'm also a non traditional student with a decade in a different industry. I recommend taking medical terminology , chemistry, biology, microbiology, anatomy then physiology. 

Science majors also applying to pa School have all these prerequisites and it'll work in your favor to prove your academic strength. When i applied first cycle with the basic pre requisites i received 2 interviews, second cycle i aced organic chem and took biochemistry , genetics and that helped me get even more invites to different schools. 

Keep taking classes to increase your chances of getting an interview invite while you focus on getting high end direct health care experience and volunteering in the little free time you have. 

Yep. This was my situation as well. I picked my first-choice school and tailored my plan to their prerequisites while adding on the other schools' at the end if I didn't get accepted. Fortunately, I was a great match to my first choice. 

ETA: My career was in healthcare though, so I didn't have to worry about PCE hours.