Non-trad getting PCE

Hi, I'm a non-traditional student trying to position myself for application to PA programs. I have a BA in Art History and an MA in Teaching, and I am a public school art teacher. I recognize that I have to complete ALL my hard science prerequisites, and I have a plan to do that in the next 1.5 years. My question is about getting PCE. I had initially thought to do a phlebotomy program that would allow me to continue to work as a teacher during(the phleb tech program was on weekends), and then work as a phlebotomist for PCE. After reading how difficult it is to get a job as a phlebotomist and that it may not be "high quality" enough to count for PCE, I've decided I should do a Patient Care Technician or CNA instead. I'm pretty sure I could work as a PCT while doing my sciences and still come out with a high GPA. 

Is working as a PCT in an urgent care or emergency setting going to be enough for my application? Does being a non-trad help or hurt? In the long run, what if I didn't have any PCE but an excellent GPA and applied as is? *assume for the purpose of this question that I have a competitive sGPA*

It all boils down to your target schools. There are some out there who are most concerned with GPA and things like leadership experience or volunteer work. They're out there. You could get lucky and find out you're near one. Otherwise, you may have to relocate if that ends up being your situation. Generally though, those who get in without any PCE tend to have a great GPA.

I can't speak to the PCT experience though. I'm guessing that will also vary some from school to school. My experience is as a dental hygienist, and I'm currently waiting to find out if my interview landed me a spot at my first-choice school.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk