Advice on moving to California

Hi all. So, I am currently a PA-S in Pennsylvania and I'm set to finish in May. I would really like to move to Cali when I'm finished and I've been trying to look into areas around SD. I know there was a little discussion in another topic link but I was hoping for some additional thoughts/advice on this move. I'm not necessarily looking for a specific field or specialty at this point. I suppose my concerns, as of now are affordability, availability and how PA's are treated in the state. Thanks in advance for any info!

California is through the roof expensive. I’m San Diego born and raised and I left for PA school and don’t plan on going back. It’s beautiful, but in my opinion, not worth the cost. If you’re set on moving there though, I’d suggest looking for somewhere to stay that’s not in main San Diego city. Look at the surrounding suburbs, or even cities a little outside of town (Temecula is nice). I’m a student and have not worked there as a PA though, so I can’t be of much help with regards to how PAs are treated in the state.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

I live and practice in SD.  The job market isn't awesome, but there is more demand the the outer limits of SD (Temecula, East County).  Housing is very expensive.  Traffic can be tough depending on what your commute is.  Financially, it does not make sense to live in Southern California.  The slight increase in pay nowhere offsets the very high COL.

• Like 1

Guest HanSolo