Physician Assistant with tattoo sleeve on arm?

Guest PAhopeful85

Guest PAhopeful85

Hey guys, I'm a non traditional student working on pre-reqs at the moment and was wondering if anyone knows if PAs can find jobs with forearm tattoos as long as they cover them up with long sleeves? There isn't much on the internet regarding this topic so I figured I would try my chances here. From what I've researched it seems that during surgical and OB/GYN rotation you are not allowed to wear long sleeves underneath your scrubs? 

As a non-traditional student I would hate to waste all my effort and time going towards a career where I end up with student loans and continuing my current job as a PTA. 

My back-up plan is a PTA to DPT bridge (since I already do this job with tattoos), but therapy is not challenging enough and my dream is to become an orthopedic PA. 

Please chime in if you can help!

2 hours ago, athleticgingerpta said:

Hey guys, I'm a non traditional student working on pre-reqs at the moment and was wondering if anyone knows if PAs can find jobs with forearm tattoos as long as they cover them up with long sleeves? There isn't much on the internet regarding this topic so I figured I would try my chances here. From what I've researched it seems that during surgical and OB/GYN rotation you are not allowed to wear long sleeves underneath your scrubs? 

As a non-traditional student I would hate to waste all my effort and time going towards a career where I end up with student loans and continuing my current job as a PTA. 

My back-up plan is a PTA to DPT bridge (since I already do this job with tattoos), but therapy is not challenging enough and my dream is to become an orthopedic PA. 

I think this would definitely depend on the region of the country you live in. I live in the Pacific Northwest and have worked with nurses, techs and providers with visible tattoos... but everyone out here has tattoos.