GI Offer (2nd Job)

Any input much appreciated. I have no GI experience.

Specialty: GI Inpatient

Salary: $106,000 (extra 4k added to base if employee cannot contribute towards health plan)

Hours: Rotating schedule NO HOLIDAYS unless already scheduled off for it, 7 days off in a 4 week period (at least 2 weekends off). 8AM-4PM (average week 42 hours)

Night Call: 2 weekends every 4 weeks, limited to pager calls (NO ED consults)

Vacation: 3 weeks off

CME: $1000 1 week off in subsequent 2nd year and onward.

Health Insurance: 4k maximum can be contributed

Retirement: To be determined

Other Variables: Good communication among the team, good boss, my friend is the other PA in the group.

1 hour ago, Ikaruga102 said:

Any input much appreciated. I have no GI experience.

Specialty: GI Inpatient

Salary: $106,000 (extra 4k added to base if employee cannot contribute towards health plan)

Hours: Rotating schedule, 7 days off in a 4 week period (at least 2 weekends off). 8AM-4PM (average week 42 hours)

Night Coverage: 2 weekends every 4 weeks, limited to pager calls (NO ED consults)

Vacation: 3 weeks off

CME: $1000 1 week off in subsequent 2nd year and onward.

Health Insurance: 4k maximum can be contributed

Retirement: To be determined

Other Variables: Good communication among the team, good boss, my friend is the other PA in the group.

How much PA experience do you have in general?

106k not bad, would see if I could negotiate up to 110k or maybe try and add a bonus structure if a lot of procedures are expected. So you are doing 2 night weekends per month? (for a total of 4 weekend night shifts)? Seems pretty steep without extra compensation.

Just for comparison sake, I know a new grad who recently signed a GI contract for 117k, 13 12-hour shifts per month, 4 weekend shifts and 2 night shifts.