Job posting with NP salary higher than PA...

Just a general rant about a posting on DocCafe...

If either provider would see 15 patients a day, why the pay difference?!

So annoying!

"Pediatrician group in the Maryvale area is seeking either an experienced Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant. Newly expanded practice is seeking an additional provider due to patient demand. Current provider is seeking on average 23 patients per day. New provider will be required to see 15 patients per day. Occasional Saturday coverage is required, though will new provider can take a weekday off to offset the additional hours. Outpatient only with no inpatient rounding. Pay is negotiable, though starting rate is $55 pr/hr for NP’s and $49 pr/hr for PAs. Malpractice coverage is supplied. Ideally seeking a Bi-lingual (Spanish preferred) provider whom is available to start this summer. Great opportunity in a great location."

Not that my two cents will matter a whole bunch, considering I'm a student, but maybe their pay is higher because the NP has a specialized training in peds in this case? I couldn't tell ya, honestly. Besides the other politics in medicine, I'm not sure. But, it sounds to be just that - politics. Or maybe I'm oblivious to other things. 

53 minutes ago, TheLastStone said:

Not that my two cents will matter a whole bunch, considering I'm a student, but maybe their pay is higher because the NP has a specialized training in peds in this case? I couldn't tell ya, honestly. Besides the other politics in medicine, I'm not sure. But, it sounds to be just that - politics. Or maybe I'm oblivious to other things. 

or maybe they need to give a doc 6/hr to "supervise" the PA...yet another reason for OTP. 

1 hour ago, EMEDPA said:

or maybe they need to give a doc 6/hr to "supervise" the PA...yet another reason for OTP.