Hello,

I am new to this forum. I am a nurse and looking into the PA programs. I was wondering if there are any nurses on this forum that went to PA school and can guide and provide insight on PA school from nursing prospective. 

Thank you!!

@LT_Oneal_PAC how long you were a nurse for before you decided to become a PA. As a nurse and a PA, What area did/do you work in? How was the transition from nursing to PA school, in terms of classes, clinicals etc. Being a nurse helped you in PA school, in terms of the course work? How was work life balance when in PA school? Did you still have your nursing license? 

Sorry too many questions! 

Thank you so much for responding to my post!!

6 hours ago, ShazRN said:

@LT_Oneal_PAC how long you were a nurse for before you decided to become a PA. As a nurse and a PA, What area did/do you work in? How was the transition from nursing to PA school, in terms of classes, clinicals etc. Being a nurse helped you in PA school, in terms of the course work? How was work life balance when in PA school? Did you still have your nursing license? 

Sorry too many questions! 

Thank you so much for responding to my post!!

I’m atypical. I worked full time as a RN for 2 years and part time 2 years in ICU. During the first 2 years I went to NP school for 3 semesters (paid for by employer) to show I could handle grad work and get into anesthesia. I went to anesthesia school and worked part time in the ICU. Realized I was miserable working with surgeons and went to PA school with a navy scholarship. I worked in family medicine in the navy for 3 years and now I’m a civilian EM resident for the past few months.