Title Change 101: Basic questions

I'm a new grad and don't know much about the politics of our profession. This topic was not discussed in PA school. Because I'm a newbie I have a few very basic questions about the process of changing our title. My goal is to understand the process and get involved:

1. Who's in charge and how can this be done?

2. Why does changing the title seems to be so difficult? Anyone against it? 

3. How can PAs like me get involved?

I'm all for changing our tittle and would like to help. My personal experience: In my graduation, the highly educated president of the campus kept saying "physician's assistant" during her speech. Very painful! Some family members say they are very happy I became a "physician's assistant." Oh my... At this point, it seems we need to change the title or change the grammar. Thank you for your answers. 

4 hours ago, PsychiatricPA said:

I'm a new grad and don't know much about the politics of our profession. This topic was not discussed in PA school. Because I'm a newbie I have a few very basic questions about the process of changing our title. My goal is to understand the process and get involved:

1. Who's in charge and how can this be done?

2. Why does changing the title seems to be so difficult? Anyone against it? 

3. How can PAs like me get involved?

I'm all for changing our tittle and would like to help. My personal experience: In my graduation, the highly educated president of the campus kept saying "physician's assistant" during her speech. Very painful! Some family members say they are very happy I became a "physician's assistant." Oh my... At this point, it seems we need to change the title or change the grammar. Thank you for your answers.