Upper level vs. Lower level Anatomy

I am currently an undergraduate junior seeking a bachelor’s in sociology and an associates in natural sciences. My health advisor is strongly suggesting that I take 3000 level separate Anatomy and Physiology courses rather than the 1000 level A&P courses. The problem is that I have heard very bad things about the professor for the upper level courses, and there is a great professor for the A&P ones. Did you guys have to take the separate courses or did you take the ones grouped together? Do you think that it will affect my chances of getting into PA school at all to take A&P rather than the separate Anatomy and Physiology courses?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Unless upper level is required for your major (i don't see why it would be), you shouldn't NEED to take it.  This is program specific, however.  Some PA programs will require upper div anatomy and physiology separate and some list it as an a recommendation.    

If you want a competitive application and the schools you plan to apply for list upper div anatomy and physiology separate as a recommendation, then you MAY need to consider this route more seriously.

Thank you both so much for your input. I am going to look back over next semester’s schedule and try to see what I think. My main concern is that I’ll be taking it the same semester that I take Organic Chemistry 1, and I haven’t heard the best things about that course so I just want to be sure that I’m not overloading myself. I am sure that butchering my GPA would be a bit more detrimental than just taking a lower level course lol

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk